Space Oddity - The Album

This was originally released in the UK as David Bowie, which was very confusing since his original debut album was also called David Bowie. When it was rereleased November 1, 1972, the album was retitled Space Oddity.

Songs (Time)

All songs written by David Bowie.

  1. Space Oddity (5:14)
  2. Unwashed and Somewhat Slightly Dazed (6:10)
  3. Don't Sit Down (0:39) * deleted from the album when it was rereleased as Space Oddity
  4. Letter To Hermione (2:30)
  5. Cygnet Committee (9:30)
  6. Janine (3:19)
  7. An Occasional Dream (2:56)
  8. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud (4:47)
  9. God Knows I'm Good (3:16)
  10. Memory Of A Free Festival (7:07)

    Bonus tracks on RykoDisc release

  11. Conversation Piece (3:05) 1970 B-side of Prettiest Star
  12. Memory Of A Free Festival Part 1 (3:59)
  13. Memory Of A Free Festival Part 2 (3:31) 1970 single version
Release details
Released 1969 as David Bowie (in the UK), Man of Words/Man of Music (in the USA), rereleased 1972 as Space Oddity
Original release by Mercury
Rerelease on CD by RykoDisc 1990 with bonus tracks
Tony Visconti except Space Oddity produced by Gus Dudgeon
David Bowie: vocals, guitar, stylophone
Rick Wakeman: keyboards
Terry Cox: drums
Tim Renwick: guitar
Keith Christmas: guitar
Mick Wayne: guitar
Tony Visconti: bass, flute, recorder
Herbie Flowers: bass
Benny Marshall and Friends: harmonica
Paul Buckmaster: cello

{Back to Albums}
{Back to
Forever Bowie}